Special Items


The Travis L. Harris Award was established by the Oklahoma Chapter of the American Association of Workers for the Blind (AAWB) in 1973. The award was named for an outstanding Oklahoman who diligently labored in behalf of the blind for over four decades.

Travis L. Harris Award Winners

Year                Recipient
1973               Robert W. King, M.D.
1974               Thomas L. Acres, M.D.
1975               Phyllis Thurston (Tulsa – Volunteer Reader)
1976               OK State Council of ESA
1977               Floyd Qualls
1978               Virgil K. Beardslee
1979               Donald E. Moseley
1980               V. R. Carter
1981               Durward C. McDaniel
1982               Gertrude Forde (Child Study Center)
1983               Virginia Woodward
1984               Clayton Morgan, Ph. D.
1985               Robert D. Gourley, M.D.
1986               Billie Carter
1987               Ernest Simpson
1988               Alvena Stevens
1989               Charles Simpson
1990               Francis and Marjorie Moske
1991               Dr. Lin Moore
1992               John Orr
1993               Norman Dalke
1994               John Simpson (Verla)
1996               Jerry Dunlap
1997               Donald Dean Lassman
1998               Jeanne Meyer
1999               Tommy Dale Robertson
2000               Mary Sue Oxtoby
2001               Marilyn Sanders
2002               Jerry Maynard
2005               Raythel Jones
2006               Barbara Staggs
2007               Judy Boston Pool Hansen
2010               Senator Earl Garrison
2010               Representative George Faught
2013               Commissioner Ray Kirk
2013               Carolyn Patocka
2014               Elsie M. Joy
2015               Jim Adams
2019               Larry Hawkins
2019               Cathy Holden
2021               Renee Miller


 The Tom Hubbard Award was established by OAER in 1992. This Award was named in memory of a counselor who consistently maintained a high level of professionalism towards his clients and provided timely and appropriate assistance to help them attain their vocational goals.  In spite of Tom Hubbard’s life-threatening illness, he worked diligently until his death. 

Tommy Hubbard Award Winners

Year                Recipient
1992                Tommy Hubbard
1998                Elaine Boykin
1999                Robert Warren
2001                Judy Boston Hansen
2002                Carolyn Patocka
2009                Julie A. Brantley
2010                Sherry Holder
2011                Vicky Golightly
2014                Jane Thomas
2017                Charley Tipps
2019                Jeri Cooper